International Music Competition. Composition Prize 2015


Plazo de presentación: 31 Mazo de 2015.

Objeto del concurso: Cuarteto de cuerdas.

70th Concours de Genève – Geneva International Music Competition.

With the support of the Queen Marie Jose Foundation.

General conditions

Pramble : The 70th edition of the Geneva international music competition is giving pride of place to composition. This discipline is pursuing the tradition of the Queen Marie Jose Prize and aims to foster the creation of new works as well as supporting high-quality first performances.

Conditions of participation

The Geneva international music competition Composition Prize will be awarded in November 2015. Its aim is to distinguish a new work not yet performed. First performance in a musical education establishment or in a private context will not be taken into consideration. The competition is open to composers of all nationalities born after April 1st, 1975 (40 years old). Composers having already won the Queen Marie Jose International Music Composition Prize or the Geneva International Music Competition Composition Prize are not eligible to take part in this competition.


The subject of the 2015 Geneva competition Composition Prize is a work for String Quartet, in its classical meaning: violin 1, violin 2, viola and violoncello, without electronics.
The piece must not last longer than 20 minutes. The Jury of the Composition Prize will select the final pieces in spring 2015. These will be given a worldwide first performance at the final round in Geneva, on November 2015. The prize-winning work will then be performed in the final rounds of the 2016 String Quartet competition. The musical score may be hand-written or in electronic form, but must be perfectly legible.


The registration deadline is set for March 31, 2015, with the portmark as proof of the dispatch date. Candidates may register directly on our website at, or using the attached registration form.

Registrations will only be considered as final after receipt of a dossier comprising (by ordinary mail or email – thank you for sending documents of high quality):

– Three musical scores, with a title or a motto, all completely readable and original, without the least mention of the composer, since the candidate must remain anonymous for the Jury.
– As well as the following documents :

  • Official proof of the candidate’s age (birth certificate or passport photocopy).
  • One short resume (studies taken, institutions, teachers, professional activities).
  • Two different and recent colour photographs (passeport-size not accepted) and very high quality. For electronic submission, the full name will be used as title (and not, for example, “pict003.jpg ou IMG_002.jpg).
  • Proof of payment of the registration fee.
  • A commentary on the work presented.
  • Authorisation for its performance and dissemination.

All candidates who send these documents by e-mail must check with the Competition management that their registration is valid and by requesting an acknowledgement of receipt.

Registration fee

Amount of the fee : the registration fee for the 2015 Geneva Competition is CHF 100 (one hundred Swiss francs) payable in a single instalment. Payment should be made to:

Banque Cantonale de Genève
Quai de l’Ile 17
Case postale 2251
CH – 1211 Geneva 2

IBAN N°: CH 33 0078 8000 S 077 6119 5
Account N°: S 776.11.95
Clearing: 788
Account holder: Concours de Genève

Payment terms:

Payment can be made by credit card (Visa or Eurocard/Mastercard) directly on our website. In this case, candidates will need to send us a copy of their payment along with the registration documents.

Cheques are not accepted. The registration fee is not refundable under any circumstances.


An international selection committee, composed of five well-known personalities, including the President and another member of the final Jury, will meet at the start of April, 2015, in order to make a preliminary selection (maximum 60 scores). In early May 2015, the official Jury will examine the compositions chosen by the selection committee. The Jury will choose at the most 4 finalist works to be publicly performed in Geneva in November 2015 by String Quartets laureates of the Geneva Competition.

At the end of the final concert, the Jury will give the results in the presence of the finalists and the public. The results of the selections will be posted on the website as on the end of May 2015. Finalists will receive a personal confirmation.

Official Prize

The prize money for the Geneva international music competition Composition Prize is 15,000 Swiss francs (approx. 12,000 Euros). The Jury may also decide not to award the Prize. Its decisions are taken by an absolute majority vote of its members, and the President has the casting vote in case of an equality of votes. The Prize is not divisible.


The Geneva international music competition Artistic Committee is solely responsible for appointing the 5 members of the international Jury. They are chosen for their international reputation in the world of music, independently of any racial, ideological, political or linguistic considerations.

The Jury’s decisions cannot be appealed. By agreeing to take part in the competition, all competitors undertake to accept and not contest these decisions.

2015 Jury members :

Michael JARRELL, Switzerland, Chairman
Unsuk CHIN, South Korea
Pascal DUSAPIN, France
Wolfgang RIHM, Germany


The prize-winning work remains the full and complete property of its author, who takes personal written responsibility for allowing it to be performed and disseminated, free of any rights (apart from copyright and publisher’s right), particularly during the 2016 String Quartet competition.

Documents will not be returned to the sender.

Registrations for the Composition Prize are now open! Apply now online.

You can also download and print the registration form here.


2013 – final composition

Kwang Ho Cho (South Korea) – Composition Prize winner, “Pneuma”

Chikako Yamanaka (Japan), Audience & Young Audience Prize winner, “Uminari”

Eunho Chang (South Korea), Finalist, “Gohok”

Adriano Gaglianello (Italy), Finalist, “Shrew!”

Gabriele Cosmi (Italy), Finalist, “Geghard II”

A cerca de la Biblioteca del CSMA

La Biblioteca del CSMA cumple las tareas de recepción, catalogación, tratamiento documental, almacenamiento y difusión de los documentos, libros, monografías, partituras y fondo sonoro, así como servir de punto de información cultural en ámbitos relacionados con la música. (Esta website es una de sus actividades externas, así como los boletines mensuales de información que se pusieron en marcha en noviembre de 2012)